Read the evidence, not the hype
BPC-157 vs TB-500: Evidence and Safety
BPC-157 and TB-500 are often grouped as recovery peptides, but the human evidence reviewed does not establish injury-recovery benefit for either substance or for their combination. BPC-157 is a 15-amino-acid peptide. FDA identifies TB-500 as thymosin beta-4 fragment LKKTETQ, not full-length thymosin beta-4. Human studies of the full-length molecule cannot be assumed to establish the safety or effectiveness of the marketed fragment.
Educational content — not medical advice. A commercial listing, biological mechanism, or laboratory result does not establish a safe or effective treatment. This page does not recommend a product, dose, stack, or provider.
The key takeaway
The human evidence reviewed does not establish injury-recovery benefit for either substance or for their combination. Relevant thymosin beta-4 human trials used full-length thymosin beta-4 in specific formulations, not the TB-500 fragment.
At-a-glance comparison
Compare the specific molecule, evidence, and indication. This is not a ranking or a treatment-selection tool.
| Question | BPC-157 | TB-500 fragment |
|---|---|---|
| What is being compared? | BPC-157 is described in its registered phase I record as a synthetic 15-amino-acid peptide. Identity alone does not establish a clinical use. | FDA identifies TB-500 as the seven-amino-acid thymosin beta-4 fragment LKKTETQ, residues 17–23. It is not full-length thymosin beta-4. |
| Human recovery evidence | No completed controlled human study reviewed proves BPC-157 improves musculoskeletal recovery. A planned rotator-cuff trial was not yet recruiting and had no results. | FDA found no medical-literature information in which TB-500 fragment was given to patients for a disease or condition, including wound healing. |
| Direct human safety information | A short pilot in two adults reported no adverse effects. It cannot characterize uncommon, delayed, route-specific, formulation-specific, or broader-population risks. | FDA reported no identified human exposure data for drug products containing thymosin beta-4 fragment LKKTETQ and said key safety questions remain unknown. |
| What full-length thymosin beta-4 studies show | Full-length thymosin beta-4 trials are evidence for a different molecule and do not provide direct BPC-157 evidence. | Full-length thymosin beta-4 has been studied in healthy volunteers and as eye drops. Those formulation- and indication-specific results do not validate TB-500 fragment or general recovery use. |
| Combination benefit | No human combination result was identified. Single-agent evidence cannot be added together to infer synergy or faster recovery. | A ClinicalTrials.gov query matching both terms returned zero records on review. This does not exclude all research, but it provides no registered human trial support for combination benefit. |
| Regulatory and sport context | FDA cites possible immunogenicity and peptide-characterization concerns for proposed BPC-157 compounded products. WADA lists BPC-157 in S0, prohibited at all times for governed sport. | FDA cites absent human data and possible immunogenicity, aggregation, and peptide-impurity concerns for proposed injectable uses of the fragment. Full-length thymosin beta-4 orphan designation is not approval. |
Swipe the table horizontally to read both columns.
TB-500 is a fragment, not full-length thymosin beta-4
FDA’s TB-500 briefing identifies TB-500 free base as Ac-Leu-Lys-Lys-Thr-Glu-Thr-Gln-OH, or LKKTETQ, a synthetic seven-amino-acid fragment from positions 17 through 23 of thymosin beta-4. FDA also reports inconsistent naming information in the nomination. Exact molecule identification is necessary before applying evidence.
Full-length thymosin beta-4 is a distinct 43-residue molecule. A study of recombinant full-length thymosin beta-4 or an ophthalmic formulation of it is not a study of LKKTETQ. Neither a parent molecule nor a fragment can be presumed to have the same exposure, activity, safety profile, or clinical effect. Here, TB-500 means the FDA-described LKKTETQ fragment.[2][5]
Human evidence does not establish recovery benefit
A BPC-157 phase I registry record describes an oral protocol in healthy volunteers, but it has an unknown status, an old update date, and no posted results. A 2025 intravenous report involved two adults and reported no side effects or measured biomarker changes during brief follow-up. It was not a controlled injury-recovery trial.
The registered BPC-157 rotator-cuff study is randomized and placebo-controlled in design, but was not yet recruiting and has no results. It does not show postoperative recovery, functional improvement, or safety. For TB-500 fragment, FDA found no medical-literature information in which it was administered to patients for any disease or condition, including wound healing. FDA also found no in-vivo pharmacology or toxicology studies of the evaluated free-base or acetate forms that could support the nominated wound-healing use.[2][3][4][11]
Full-length thymosin beta-4 trials have narrow relevance
Human full-length thymosin beta-4 research provides a boundary, not proof for TB-500 fragment. A phase I study tested recombinant human thymosin beta-4 in 54 healthy volunteers after a single intravenous administration and 30 after repeated administration. It reported mild-to-moderate adverse events, with no dose-limiting toxicities or serious adverse events during that study. This is short-term safety information for the full-length molecule in selected healthy participants.
A nine-participant eye-drop trial of full-length thymosin beta-4 reported eye-specific dry-eye outcomes and no adverse events in its small safety population. A completed 699-participant dry-eye trial used a preservative-free ophthalmic solution containing thymosin beta-4. These topical dry-eye studies do not establish that TB-500 fragment treats physical injuries or that either substance improves general recovery.[5][6][7]
Safety gaps and combination claims
The absence of reported harm in a very small, short study does not establish broad safety. FDA says compounded BPC-157 may present immunogenicity and peptide-characterization concerns and that safety information is absent or limited for proposed routes. For TB-500 fragment, FDA cites absent human exposure data and possible immunogenicity related to aggregation and peptide-related impurities. These statements identify uncertainty; they do not quantify an individual risk.
A ClinicalTrials.gov query matching BPC-157 and TB-500 returned zero records on the review date. It cannot exclude unpublished work, alternative terminology, or studies outside that registry. It does mean that this search supplies no registered human trial support for synergy, faster healing, or a safer combined approach. For athletes governed by WADA rules, BPC-157 is specifically listed in S0 and prohibited at all times.[1][2][8][10]
Sources and references
Source scope matters: a drug label, trial record, and cell study answer different questions.
- [1] FDA: Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks
FDA official safety and compounding page · Source date: Not specified
- [2] FDA Briefing Document: Evaluation of TB-500-related Bulk Drug Substances for Inclusion on the 503A Bulk Drug Substances List
FDA briefing document · Source date: Not specified
- [3] PCO-02 - Safety and Pharmacokinetics Trial, NCT02637284
ClinicalTrials.gov registry record · Source date: 2015-12-22
- [4] Safety of Intravenous Infusion of BPC157 in Humans: A Pilot Study
PubMed-indexed primary study · Source date: 2025-09-01
- [5] A First-in-Human, Randomized, Double-Blind, Single- and Multiple-Dose, Phase I Study of Recombinant Human Thymosin beta4 in Healthy Chinese Volunteers
PubMed-indexed primary phase I study · Source date: 2021-09-01
- [6] Comparative Study of Thymosin Beta 4 Eye Drops vs. Vehicle in the Treatment of Severe Dry Eye, NCT01393132
ClinicalTrials.gov results record · Source date: 2015-12-23
- [7] Assessment of the Safety and Efficacy of RGN-259 Ophthalmic Solutions for Dry Eye Syndrome: ARISE-3, NCT03937882
ClinicalTrials.gov results record · Source date: 2026-08-28
- [8] World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List
WADA official prohibited-list page · Source date: Not specified
- [9] FDA Orphan Drug Designations and Approvals: Thymosin beta 4
FDA official designation record · Source date: 2013-12-31
- [10] ClinicalTrials.gov API search for BPC-157 and TB-500
ClinicalTrials.gov registry search · Source date: Not specified
- [11] Impact of BPC-157 on Recovery From Rotator Cuff Repair Surgery, NCT07803250
ClinicalTrials.gov registry record · Source date: 2026-09-03
Frequently Asked Questions about BPC-157 and TB-500 fragment
Clear answers with the same evidence limits used throughout this page.
Is TB-500 the same as thymosin beta-4?
No. FDA identifies TB-500 as the seven-residue thymosin beta-4 fragment LKKTETQ. Full-length thymosin beta-4 has 43 residues. Evidence for one is not evidence for the other.[1][2]
Do full-length thymosin beta-4 trials prove TB-500 works for recovery?
No. The reviewed trials used full-length thymosin beta-4, including recombinant systemic research and topical eye drops. They were not trials of LKKTETQ TB-500 fragment for musculoskeletal recovery.[2][5][6][7]
Has BPC-157 been proven to improve recovery in people?
Not in the completed human evidence reviewed. The registered postoperative study was not yet recruiting, and the two-person pilot was a short safety observation rather than an injury-recovery trial.[4][11]
Are BPC-157 and TB-500 proven to work better together?
No. The combined-term ClinicalTrials.gov query returned zero records at review. That does not rule out all research, but it does not support a human claim of synergy or combination benefit.[10]
Keep learning
Understand the evidence before the claim.
Explore the educational library, not a shopping catalog.